Two PE faculty members win gold medals at the Arnis Virtual Anyo National event

Two PE faculty members win gold medals at the Arnis Virtual Anyo National event

Prof. Fernando S. Tinagan and the late Mr. Kim Adrian G. Infante, both faculty members of the Department of Physical Education, College of Arts and Sciences, represented the UPV-Modern Arnis Tapi-Tapi International MATTI Miagao, Iloilo Chapter in the recently concluded 2022 National Inter Schools Universities and Colleges Virtual Anyo and Skills Competition last November 5, 2022 and won gold medals. 

The competition was done via live streaming. The judging was sponsored by the Pro-Active ARNIS League, Angeles City, Pampanga Philippines, headed by Guro Joel Madrona as President.

Prof. Tinagan won 11 gold medals in the Veterans 40 and Above Years Old in the Male Category. These are the following Arnis Virtual Anyo and Combative Tire Skills Competitions he dominated: 

1. Standard Anyo Event: Unang Anyo

2. Pangalawang Anyo

3. Abanico Dalawa

4. Unang Punyo

5. Duo-Unang Anyo (Prof. Tinagan and Mr. Infante)

6. Combative Tire Strikes Skills: Continuous Strikes

7. Corto Strikes

8. Largo Strikes (1 meter)

9. Largo Strikes (2 meters); 

10. Traditional Anyo Event: Single Weapon

11. Espada Y Daga

Mr.  Infante, a new PE instructor, also won 3 gold medals in the 18-39 years old Male Category (24 yo), Standard Anyo Event:  Unang Anyo, Pangalawang Anyo, and Duo-Unang Anyo with Prof. Tinagan. 

The Team UPV-MATTI Miagao, Iloilo Chapter won 14 gold medals in 14 entries placing the team as the Second Overall Champion next to MATTI-Bacolod Team as Overall Champion. MATTI-Iloilo and ITSMAI Tinagan Team placed 3rd in the overall standing. 

UPV-MATTI Miagao Chapter also won Second Overall Champion in the 2021 Arnis Virtual Anyo Competition with players Mar S. Sencil from the UPV Library; Fraulyn Marey Moralidad and Amiguel Pamplona from UPV- SOTECH; Jilyn Rose Yap from UPV-CAS; and Paula B. Deloria, Rod Tristan D. Maligad, and Rod Justin D. Maligad from the UPHSI team. 

The Team Board of Directors are Prof. Ruben Magan Gamala and Dr. Rey Carlo T. Gonzales.

Related Articles

Campus news writers earn training

Executive offices welcome new year well-wishers


Copyright © 2024

Information and Publications Office
1/F New Administration Building
University of the Philippines Visayas
Miagao, Iloilo 5023
Mobile Numbers: +639660532884 / +639617950005