Request for Quotation


View List


UPV Scenes



News and Features

Degree-granting Units

College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences (CFOS)

The College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences (CFOS) of the University of the Philippines Visayas is the forefront of fisheries education in the country. Over the years, the College has instituted degree programs that address the need for sustainable development of the country's fisheries resources and respond to the call for highly trained manpower in the field. Its curricular offerings, both in the graduate and undergraduate levels, aim to impart to students theoretical knowledge and practical skills as well as develop analytical capabilities as tools towards innovative approaches and solutions to fisheries and related programs.


The College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences has four institutes, namely:

* Institute of Aquaculture (IA)

* Institute of Marine Fisheries and Oceanology (IMFO)

* Institute of Fish Processing Technology (IFPT)

* Institute of Fisheries Development Studies (IFPDS)



College of Arts and Sciences (CAS)

The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) provides the general education program that is the foundation of all academic programs in the University. The College equips the students with basic knowledge in the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities; the skills necessary to communicate and to analyze and integrate knowledge; and the ability to learn independently and think critically. It offers interdisciplinary programs with double major supportive of, or complementary to, those offered by other colleges.


As a college composed of various disciplines, including a Division of Professional Education and a laboratory high school designed to train underprivileged youth especially from rural areas, the CAS takes the lead in strengthening programs related to science and technology, professional competence, and values clarification, inculcating in the student a better understanding of himself/herself as a Filipino, with a deep sense of nationalism and pride in the cultural heritage.


The College of Arts and Sciences has five divisions, namely, the Biological Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Mathematics, and Professional Education Divisions.



College of Management (CM)

The College of Management (CM) was formerly the School of Development Management (SDM), established in December 1981 out of the former Division of Development Management of the College of Arts and Sciences. SDM was elevated to college status in 1991.


The objectives of the College are the following: to provide strong management and business complement and support to the UPV programs in fisheries, marine sciences, the arts, social and natural sciences; to provide quality management education in order to train leaders for the region's public and private sectors; to serve as center for research, information dissemination, consultancy, and training services in the various areas of administration/management; and to serve as a pivotal link between UPV and local, national, and international organizations engaged in the management education, training and research.


The College of Management has two departments, namely, the Department of Accounting and the Department of Management.


Starting June 1997, the College offered the Diploma Program in Urban and Regional Planning in coordination with the School of Urban and Regional Planning (SURP) at UP Diliman.


In July 1997, CM started the pilot testing of a course on Island Food Systems in RDM 298 (Field Studies), a course in the Master of Management, Rural Development Program. This initiative was made under the auspices of the Island Sustainability, Livelihood, and Equity (ISLE) Program. ISLE partners from Canada, Indonesia and Jamaica team-taught the course with UPV faculty members.



School of Technology (SoTech)

The School of Technology (SoTech), formerly the School of Technology and Environmental Resources (STER), was established on March 29, 1984 as the 5th degree-granting unit of UP Visayas during the 966th Meeting of the Board of Regents. It was formally operationalized on February 17, 1986 with the transfer of the Food Technology program, along with its faculty, from the College of Arts and Sciences.


On April 22, 1993, the name of the School was changed from STER to SoTech. Along with its change of name was a modification of its mandate for it to become responsive to the needs of the region and the nation.


The School's mission is to provide highly trained manpower, generate appropriate and environment-friendly technologies, disseminate information and transfer knowledge and technology; and assist in the proper management of the environment for regional development and nation building.



UPV Tacloban College (UPVTC)

In its 823rd meeting, the UP Board of Regents established the UP College Tacloban as an answer to the urgent need for quality education in Region VIII. It was recognized as a regional unit of the System on May 23, 1973 and inaugurated on July 2, 1973.


Ten years later, Executive Order No. 4 placed UP College Tacloban under the administrative supervision of UP Visayas.


The mission of the College is to develop humanist-oriented professionals and leaders by providing opportunities for a UP education to qualified secondary and tertiary education graduates. The College is likewise mandated to act as a catalyst of change through research and extension services that are geared towards improving the quality of life in Eastern Visayas.


UPVTC has four divisions, namely, the Division of Humanities and Physical Education, Division of Management, Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, and the Division of Social Sciences.

UP System | Diliman | Manila | Los Baños | Visayas | Mindanao | Baguio | Open University

Copyright © 2011 University of the Philippines Visayas