Request for Quotation


View List


UPV Scenes



For Sale:

 UP Visayas Coffee Table Book



Features images of UPV Tacloban College before Typhoon Yolanda


News and Features

Pol Sci students join national convention at the University of Northern Philippines

 John Paul Berdugo

Posted: 2013-02-25


Fifteen BS Political Science students of UP Visayas participated for the very first time in the national convention organized by Political Science Students' Association of the Philippines (PSSAP) and Politically Inclined Students (POLIS) on February 7- 10, 2013 at the University of Northern Philippines in Tamag, Vigan City, Ilocus Sur. The UPV participants are members of the UPV Discursus, which is a university organization, composed of BS Political Science students.  


The UPV contingent was headed by Charmaine Joy F. Agris, Discursus Chairperson along with Caressa Joanne Antipuesto, Anavie Alegre, Erlie Berano, John Paul Berdugo, Nicolette Bolinas, John Paul Cabios, Chris Za Bea Enate, AJ Dane Gayosa, Sophia Marie Gillana, Jana Felice Gonzalez, Luvielyn Igpuara, Jessa Carmela Sanchez, Thapten Tello, and Paul Joseph Untaran.


During the three-day convention, a series of colloquium from notable speakers like Under Secretary Leon G. Flores III of the National Youth Commission and Ilocos Sur House Representative Chavit Singson highlighted the expanded role of political science students in the preservation of cultural heritage. Academic competitions such as a quiz bowl, extemporaneous elocution, and on-the-spot essay writing were also held. The first search for the Ten Outstanding Political Science Students of the Philippines (TOPSSP) was also conducted, with the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), chaired by Dr. Patricia B. Licuanan, as active partner.


John Paul F. Berdugo, a second year BA Political Science student won 2nd runner up in the essay writing contest.


The next PSSAP convention will be held at Tuguegaro City, Cagayan with Cagayan State University as the host school.



Help Rebuild UPVTC



UP System | Diliman | Manila | Los Baños | Visayas | Mindanao | Baguio | Open University

Copyright © 2011 University of the Philippines Visayas